Don’t give up on getting it

What are the first five books of the Hebrew Bible?

The first five books of the Tanakh (Hebrew Bible) are: Bereisheet (Genesis), Shemot (Exodus), Vayikra (Leviticus), Bamidbar (Numbers), Devarim (Deuteronomy).  These 5 books are called the Torah in Hebrew which means “teaching”or “law” or “instruction”.  The Christian names for the books are derived from the Greek Septuagint and reflect the essential theme of each book : Genesis: “origin”, Exodus: Exodos, “going out”,  Leviticus: Leuitikos, “relating to the Levites”, Numbers: Arithmoi, contains a record of the numbering of the Israelites in the wilderness of Sinai and later on the plain of Moab,  Deuteronomy: Deuteronomion, “second law”,refers to the fifth book’s repetition of the commandments, reviewed by Moses before his death.


Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. Deuteronomy 6:4-5

Do not seek revenge or bear a grudge against anyone among your people, but love your neighbour as yourself.  I am the Lord. Leviticus 19:18



One of the scribes came near and heard them disputing with one another, and seeing that he answered them well, he asked him, ‘Which commandment is the first of all?’



Jesus answered, ‘The first is, “Hear, O Israel: the Lord our God, the Lord is one; you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind, and with all your strength.” The second is this, “You shall love your neighbour as yourself.” There is no other commandment greater than these.’



Then the scribe said to him, ‘You are right, Teacher; you have truly said that “he is one, and besides him there is no other”; and “to love him with all the heart, and with all the understanding, and with all the strength”, and “to love one’s neighbour as oneself”, this is much more important than all whole burnt-offerings and sacrifices.’



When Jesus saw that he answered wisely, he said to him, ‘You are not far from the kingdom of God.’ After that no one dared to ask him any question. Mark 12:28-34




1 thought on “Don’t give up on getting it

  1. Pingback: What is giving up? | Just me being curious

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.